Dr. Fielding is currently a Distinguished Professor of Health Policy and Management and of Pediatrics in the Schools of Public Health and Medicine at UCLA. Previously he served for 16 years as Public Health Director and Health Officer for Los Angeles County.
Having served as a founding member of the U.S. Clinical Preventive Services Task Force, Dr. Fielding currently chairs the U.S. Task Force on Community Preventive Services. He also served as Director and Chair of the Truth Initiative, dedicated to ending youth smoking. He chaired the Advisory Committee for the U.S. Healthy People 2020 objectives and is currently a Co-Chair for the Healthy People 2030 objectives. He was appointed by President Barak Obama to the National Advisory Group on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health and is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine. He also serves as a director of Shatterproof, the national non-profit fighting addiction.
Dr. Fielding founded the UCLA Center for Health Advancement, which models policies and programs to cost-effectively improve health and health equity, education, and criminal justice systems for populations and disadvantaged subgroups. He has authored or coauthored more than 300 original articles, commentaries, editorials and chapters on various aspects of public health, preventive medicine, and health services. He is the longstanding editor of the Annual Review of Public Health and currently writes a monthly opinion piece on health issues for The Hill.
Dr. Fielding received board certification from the American Board of Pediatrics and the American Board of Preventive Medicine. He received his MD with honors from Harvard School of Medicine, a Master of Public Health degree from the Harvard School of Public Health and a Master of the History of Science degree from the Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Fielding received his MBA in finance from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania. His honors include the UCLA Medal, the Sedgwick Medal, and the Roemer, Fries and Porter prizes, as well as honorary doctorates.